Skip to content

Kettlewell Awards Standards

Charles W. Kettlewell
Charles W. Kettlewell

Standards for the Award

The Kettlewell Award was established in Chuck’s honor and memory by APRL’s Board of Directors in 2010 to recognize the lifetime achievement of an APRL member who not only has achieved a distinguished legal career in legal ethics and professional responsibility and has made significant contributions to APRL, but who also exemplifies the qualities of professionalism, excellence in the practice of law, and dedication to the field of legal ethics and professional responsibility as a whole.

Nomination Process

  • Nominations for the Kettlewell Award are considered every two years, during even-numbered years, by a special Kettlewell Award Committee, which shall be established by APRL’s Board of Directors.
  • The Kettlewell Award Committee shall consist of APRL’s Immediate Past President, current President, President-Elect, and up to two additional past Kettlewell Award recipients, who must be then-current APRL members, and who shall be selected by the current President.
  • The Immediate Past President shall serve as the Chair of the Kettlewell Award Committee. Any current Kettlewell Award Committee member is ineligible to receive the Kettlewell Award.
  • After considering the nominations, and solely at the Kettlewell Award Committee’s discretion, it may recommend its selection of a candidate to the APRL Board for the Board’s consideration and approval.
  • If the Kettlewell Award Committee nominates a recipient, and if the Board approves the selection, the Kettlewell Award will be presented to the recipient at APRL’s Annual Meeting.
  • Nominations may be made by any APRL member. During even-numbered years, at least 120 days prior to the Annual Meeting, APRL’s Secretary shall solicit nominations from APRL’s membership.
  • Any APRL member wishing to nominate someone for the Kettlewell Award must submit the Kettlewell Award Nomination Form to the APRL Secretary no later than 100 days prior to the Annual Meeting.
  • The Secretary shall collect all nominations, and submit those nominations to the Chair of the Kettlewell Awards Committee no later than 90 days prior to the Annual Meeting.
  • Thereafter, the Kettlewell Award Committee Chair shall call meetings as necessary to consider the nominations and make any potential nomination to the Board.
  • Separate supporting documents which describe the nominee’s accomplishments, contributions, initiatives, and the impact in the area of legal ethics and professional responsibility may be submitted as well.
  • Further, nominators are encouraged to include reports and articles evidencing the nominee’s contributions.
  • Finally, a resume including the nominee’s history of involvement in the field of legal ethics and professional responsibility and letters of support may also be included.
  • APRL members can both be nominated for, and receive, the Kettlewell Award posthumously.